In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

These days, other countries tend to have a high proportion of older people and this problem will continue in the future. In this statement, I will discuss and explain my views below.

On the one hand, this problem has some beneficial impacts. Firstly, older people have more experience than the younger generation. Because they live longer and have their own knowledge, they will play a big role in contributing free labor to ameliorating communities. According to a recent survey, most of the younger generation learn a lot from older people and admire seniors. Secondly, old people still contribute to charity activities. If they cannot return to work for some reasons, they still engage in charity work and instill a great sense of responsibility and altruism into the young generation.

On the other hand, there are several negative reasons. It is expected that senior citizens will become a burden to their families and government in the future. Old people have a longer life expectancy than before, and their descendants will shoulder much more responsibilities. For instance, if the government has to pay for increased retirement pensions and health care costs, it will bear a greater financial burden for both the younger generation and the government. In addition, older people can replace young people. They cannot catch up with technology development and will stagnate. In the factory, there is always a lot of cutting-edge technology and it will take time and effort to guide senior citizens through the use of it.

To sum up, this trend has both positive and negative impacts. Even though the older generation can be a source of knowledge for the younger generation, they are still a burden on society.