Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.Do you think this a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays, there are many nations that use non-renewable resources to generate energy. However, there are also many countries replaced fossil fuel by using renewable energy for clean power. I completely believe this is a positive development for the country that use clean energy itself and for the world.

Fossil fuel can do great harm to the environment, such as causing global warming and pollution. Emissions from factories that burn coal polluted the air in the surroundings, and sometimes can also cause acid rain. From my own experience, a few years ago I visited China, during the time when it was well-known for polluted country. When I stayed in Beijing for a few days, I noticed the sky was always gloomy and the city rarely meet sunlight. I also saw on the news in some growing countries like Japan, many students and workers have to wear face masks to go to school and workplace. If Japan widen in using renewable source, such as using solar energy, or wind power, the quality of air can be greatly improve.

Renewable energy not only can give positive effects to the country, but also can help slow down the rising heat of the earth. If the nations using fossil fuel to generate energy sustain this routine, it will affect the world dramatically. The ice is melting, causing the rise in sea level, which will damage not only the habitat of the animals, but also our home.

In conclusion, although many countries already switched to using clean energy, I still encourage more nations and residential areas to widely use renewable energy to help reduce the speed of changes in climate.