New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The proliferation of technological gadgets has altered what kind of activities is prioritized by the young generation in recent years. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon before concluding that the former is more significant.

On the one hand, the heavy use of high-tech devices by children is disadvantageous to some extent. First and foremost, this practice has various detrimental impacts on teenagers’ well-being. This is virtually due to the fact that the sedentary time that they spent sitting in front of computer screens could lead to adequate involvement in physical activities, thereby numerous lethal diseases, namely obesity and high blood pressure might be caused. Secondly, retaining exposure to explicit content from social networking sites without parental guidance could lead to hazardous consequences for the maturation of offspring. For example, it seems to be horrendously labored to constrain countless sexual videos and violent images which are censored to appear on Facebook, Tiktok, and Twitter, resulting in the imitation of adolescence, leading to their behaviors becoming more peculiar and erratic.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that this trend could be beneficial to the young. Firstly, technological devices could bring them copious opportunities to broaden their horizon about the outside world. Specifically, Zoom can be seen as a prime example of this assertion. Billions of students in China are capable of studying and researching online throughout the Covid-19 pandemic, irrespective of geographical boundaries by virtue of being under the national lockdown. In addition, by using technological innovations feasibly, we could alleviate time-consuming tasks. For instance, instead of taking notes manually, Goodnote- an app that is installed by Apple, could be used as a conducive tool for school-goers to facilitate their academic performance.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that it is deleterious for the young to rely destructively on state-of-the-art gadgets, I would contend that the upsides which it offers are significantly more noteworthy.