The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is commonly proposed that stricter punishments could be the sole and optimal solution in order to deter commuters from driving carelessly and dangerously on the road. However, from my personal perspective, I strongly disagree with that arguments because there are alternative measures which would be even more effective.

To begin with, it can not be deniable that imposing heavier sentences on driving offences aid effectively not only to cut road accident frequency, but also to guarantee the citizens’ road –safety due to their positive impacts on raising drastically awareness of traffic participants. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. Since January 2020, the authority has ultimately introduced the legislation 100 which comprising the detailed stricter punishments imposed in respect of traffic law violations. Moreover, commuters who driving while intoxicated are at grave risk of facing the highest monetary fine ever, ranging from 1 million to 40 million Vietnam Dong, and the police will get tougher with these driving criminals with the aim of imposing full weight of the law. This solution is totally prone to be immediately efficient when a record conduction of traffic accidents has been reported.

However, the aforementioned measure is not the only way to offer a road safety improvement and it is highly recommended that government adopt these feasibly superior alternatives. One of the effective measures could be traffic calming. Various reasearch represented that more than a third of total road accidents happened were in relation to the degradation of road facilities; therefore, besides hash penalties for offenders, the governments should emphasize on build – up infrastructure as well. Another viable method is installing speed cameras which aims at making drivers aware of the need to adhere to speed limits. Many authorities around the world have adopted this very cost-effective measure.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that the effectiveness of being tough on traffic crimes is completely tangible but not enough. Hence, A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.