In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While it is maintained by some that to succeed in sport physical strength is needed, other people believe that particularly mental strength lead for successful career. Personally, I consider the perfect receipt of prosperous path in sport is a combination of physical and mental skills.

On the one hand, it is unlikely that without extraordinary physical shape person even have a possibility to become a middle class sportsman. The basic step of performing in sport is a ability to be physically stronger than opponents. Indeed, for some kind of sport this condition is more sufficient than for others. For example, athletics, swimming, fights are require to be faster, resistant and stronger. Consequently, it is impossible to become a successful sportsman if do not develop physical skills.

On the other hand, all types of sports are require to be mentally resistant. This resistance help to recover after losses that especially crucial for all sportsmen as it is highly unlikely not to lose at all. Furthermore, mental strong helps to be patient in everyday workouts and save optimism before important competitions. For instance, there are interviews with champions in which they tell that in many cases exactly inner tough spirit and right mindset help them to win.

Though people may vary in their opinions, I believe that both physical strength and mental mindset are the vital parts of success in sport. The most important thing is that altogether these skills create synergy effect which multiple results of performing sportsman. For example, even spending most of the time in training football players need a strategy and mental support from their coach during the match. There are many examples of winning from the worst situations after supporting trainer’s speech.

While it is sometimes believed that the secret of success in sport is physical strength, there are those who consider mental mindset is more sufficient. To my mind these two qualities are equally contribute for developing successful sport career.