Q16 In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of the age gap between parents and children has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to giving birth babies at an early age, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having children as early in life as possible exerts a positive influence on families do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that young people raising their children are more likely to participate in various leisure activities with their offspring, such as football and online games, which enables them to build strong relationship with one another. In addition, not only can younger parents communicate with their children with greater ease, but they are also easily capable of empathising with their children considering that they have a predisposition to be more open-minded than older parents who are generally more strict due to a larger generation gap.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of taking responsibility for becoming parents at a young age are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that young people who look after their children often struggle to support their living costs given that they have not saved a huge amount of money as the majority of them do not have enough work experience. Therefore, younger parents often have difficulty providing invaluable opportunities, such as a high quality of education, for their children. Furthermore, younger parents may have a negative impact on the development of their children's personality. This means that younger parents who are generally less mature due to a lack of life experience may be incapable of setting a good example to their children, which can even lead children to become immature and selfish.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of the narrow age gap between parents and children surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.