Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion

Over the decades, waves of immigration blooming all over the world. Some people think that new immigrants should integrate and assimilate into the new country while others claim that they may create a new minority community. Personally, a minority group is a good way to preserve the culture.

On the one hand, newcomers usually adopt the culture, values, and social behaviors of the host nation when they are immigrating to a new country. These actions help them easily integrate, understand how their new country works and get benefits from citizenship status and develop a career. With the success of new entrants and locals, the economy and society will maintain and get more achievements. Secondly, assimilation will decline some concerns like discrimination and a tinge of ethnic bias of the locals for newcomers. Therefore, conflict will be curbed and the solidarity between locals and immigrants will increase to a higher level.

On the other hand, building a minority community has become a new trend in some recent years. They tend to maintain a significant level of their cultural heritage when they are living in the dominant country and gradually create a minority group in this new country with a distinctive culture. With the view of integration without assimilation, these communities contribute to the rich diversity of a successful society in the host country. For example, after many years of living and working in Czech, communities of Vietnamese were certified as a minority community in 2015 and they really created a new community with significant Vietnamese culture. Secondly, minority groups play a virtual background for newcomers when they come to a new country. These groups help them have more motivation and are ready to integrate, develop and achieve success. Their success in many fields will attract the host nation to the motherland and may think about the investment in their own country in economy or other fields.

In conclusion, immigrants should adopt the new culture or build a new minority community, still a must contested notion in many developed countries over the decades. And I believe that the minority community will bring more significant values for the host nations.