Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities, while others disagree.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that the bike is one of the most popular transportation in the world for many reasons. Although some people think that this travel method is the most suitable for the urban, I would argue that it is not the most insightful choice for the citizens.

On one hand, those who support the former view might argue that one of the most significant problems of cities is probably pollution which can be decreased by using bicycles. This is because bikes use human strength which doesn’t cause waste gas like the others. For example, Japan is the country with the least amount of pollution in the air thanks to a large number of bike users. If everybody uses bikes rather than other transport, the air will be much fresher.

On the other hand, the reason why I said that using bikes wasn’t the most brilliant choice is that they consume a lot of time. The reason is that they use human strength which is limited, so it leads to a lower speed compared to the other methods. For instance, a teenager can ride a bike at twenty or thirty meters an hour while a car driver can finish the fifty meters distance in an hour. To make it clear, if people can only use bikes to travel, they might have to stay on the road for about nearly ten hours a day, which means nearly half a day just for moving.

In conclusion, despite the fact that bicycles are eco-friendly, I still believe that there might be a better way to protect the environment rather than spend most of the time on bikes.