Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

People’s opinions differ with regard to the impact of video games in today’s technological world. While there are some arguments about the benefits of games, I still believe that this trend could have numerous negative aspects for a variety of reasons.

On the one hand, I suppose that video games bring advantages of both education and entertainment aspects. Firstly, playing games offers a plethora of useful information and knowledge for individuals. For instance, when playing online intellectual games such as Logical Brain Games, Elevate, Chess, etc, players have to utilize their solving problems, reasoning, sharp thinking skills in order to overcome all the obstacles or competitive rivals to become a winner. This means that computer games can assist to enhance people’s logical and critical thinking, creativity, and necessary abilities, which are considered extremely valuable in current complex life. Secondly, we can consider video games as a means of relaxing or leisure, and teenagers tend to prefer to immerse themselves in the virtual world, which is frequently more fascinating and vivid than our today’s boring and pressure world. This allows us to let our hair down after relentless hours of work or study, eventually contributing to more effective productivity.

On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages mentioned above. The major reason is spending too much time playing games can lead to tremendously detrimental effects on our mental and physical health. According to the Health Services survey, the average amount of time that Vietnamese teenagers waste playing games is roughly 5 hours per day, which results in plenty of diseases related to eye-based problems and mental disorders, or even depression. In addition, adolescents are prone to distractions from their studies due to highly addictive games. Since the playful nature of children, if without parents’ strictness and orientation, it is difficult for them to focus on their education, leading to bad academic outcomes.

In conclusion, while video games could be considered as a means of beneficial education to some extent, I personally believe that they have numerous devastating impacts on the individuals playing them.