The youth in many countries are unemployed and unskilled, while at the same time, the military services are in need of people. Compulsory military service is beneficial and necessary.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the economic burden of a country is mainly attributed to crews of unemployed residents, especially in developing countries. Indeed, this particular group of society is the major concern of other social issues like crimes and the gap between rich and poor. To tackle these challenges, most people may look to military service in that unskilled individuals will be featured with practical skills serving their personal lives. Accordingly, mandatory military service could be considered as an essential solution when confronted with the contrasts amongst society.

As can be seen from the fact that so many unemployed people are in need of financial support to survive. Consequently, when the basic needs of humanity could not be satisfied, these crews would struggle to feed themselves at all cost, regardless of legal or illegal actions they could take. Furthermore, these precarious lives are more of an unsolved cycle of life in which children from these deprived families, at no time, have a chance to change their fates. As a consequence, poverty could be expanded as time goes by, which leads to the unbalance of society, extreme poverty and extreme wealth. As a matter of fact, if the problem remains long enough, it may result in the devastation of communities.

To militate against the negative effects that unemployment could bring, the military should have its mandate to deploy people from these communities. On the one hand, the national army would be reinforced by additional workforce, if compulsory military service is imposed across the countries. On the other hand, the military is in fact the most disciplined environment in which residents will be educated to be moral and skillful ones; then they could be the breadwinners of their families when returning to normal lives. In short, military service will not only bring a brighter future for those who struggle with their turbulent lives, but also strengthen the national defense.

Briefly, to mitigate the uncertainties amongst societies, military service should be imposed as a mandatory option for unemployed people, so that the problems about unemployment and workforce deprivation within the army could both be solved.