To what extent has the internet made life more convenient?

The internet has a profound contribution to an individual’s lifestyle and daily needs. Information is instantaneously available, at the behest of the people. From a historical perspective, the comfort level enjoyed by people is at its pinnacle. Such is the impact made by the internet in our life. This essay will firstly, discuss how the internet is playing an indispensable role in shaping education as one of the main advantages, and secondly, outline how cyber-crimes can adversely affect lives as one of the main disadvantages.

The internet significantly boosts student autonomy. Students have the freedom to focus on whatever topics or subjects they want to study and learn more on this subject. An example is the number of online courses available, covering a variety of subjects, which up until today was unavailable to most learners. This caused an upsurge in the number of people studying tertiary level degrees, at a pace and schedule that suits them the best.

The main disadvantage associated with the usage of internet is the rise of electronic crimes. People risk their privacy online by having their sensitive information stolen by malicious software written by nefarious hackers. According to the Times, the shopping giant Walmart suffered one of the largest online heist ever, where a security breach leaked millions of credit card information. This resulted in disrupting their shopping services; affecting customers living in remote areas.

In conclusion, benefits the internet bring to education, such as student autonomy, must be measured against the drawbacks, such as cyber crimes. Overall, the internet’s positive usage by people all over the world significantly outweighs its negative usage.