Over-packaging - responsible of consumer or producer

Nowadays, it is not difficult to find a product that is over packaged in markets. Many think that it is the responsibility of producers to control the over package issue, while some think it is the responsibility of consumer to avoid it. This essay will discuss why it is up to producers to not over package the product at the first place.

Producers should not over package products because it is not cost effective. When the package fee is higher, the sales price will be higher and absorb by consumer. For example, the branded liquor - Chivas have different type of packaging and the market researchers found that the most popular type is actually the plain type , as it is the cheapest type. Hence, producers can reduce the sales price by reduce the over package and it will benefit both producers and consumers.

Furthermore, it is everyone responsibility to conserve the environment and reduce the wastage. Over packaging required a lot of plastic or box to beautify their product outlook. A research shows that the over packaging had significantly increase the daily wastage by 180% as consumers tend to throw away as the packaging did not serve any purpose for them. Therefore, by minimize the packaging, the producers are able to reduce the wastage in the world.

In a nutshell, it is important to reduce the over packaging as it is not cost effective and caused a lot of wastage. In my opinion, I completely agree that it is responsibility of producers to not over packaging the products in the first place.