Some people point that experiential learning (i.e. learning by doing it) can work well in formal education. However, others think a traditional form of teaching is the best. Do you think experiential learning CAN WORK WELL in high schools or colleges?

These days there is an ongoing debate among people on experiential learning versus traditional learning. Although many individuals consider learning by doing is the best methodology, a number of people hold an opposite view. This essay will discuss why experiential learning works well in high schools and colleges.

To begin with, there are multiple reasons why I support experiential learning. The first and foremost is that the students get involved consciously in whatever they do as part of the experiential learning process and it tends to stay longer in their memory. Secondly, it involves physical actions and not just mugging up books. The students exactly know what to do and how. For instance, a student who actually measures the temperature of boiling water will remember the boiling point value better than a student who just read and learn it. Consequently, it is very clear that experiential learning is advantageous.

However, there is no doubt that learning by doing has many negative aspects as well. But the advantages of experiential learning outweighs its disadvantages. For example, a recent study by a group of eminent scientists shows that the high school students who underwent experiential learning showed better results in their academics compared to the traditional ones. Thus, it is obvious that experiential learning works well in formal education compared to traditional teaching.

To put it in a nutshell, while there are several convincing arguments on both sides, my opinion depicts that experiential learning is an efficient way in formal education and gives fruitful output.