Some people think that experiential learning (learning by doing) can work well in formal education; however others think that traditional form of teaching is the best. Discuss whether or not you think experiential learning can work well in high school and college?

Experiential learning has sparked a heated debate whether is a better learning method than formal education in classroom. Broadly speaking, experiential learning is learning through practices. During practicing, learner may experience number of trials and errors, this process invokes learner’s emotion, that prompts reflects, changes and mindset. In addition to enhance emotional intelligent ability, combined with collaboration of modified and acquired new skills leading to succeed. Beyond that learner is also acting as an active learner in experiential learning instead of a passive witness in traditional teaching that will encourage learner being a proactive learner in long run. In this essay I will elaborate two sides of notion and will end to my conclusion.

Experiential learning is appealing to many students who are good in learning from hands on experiences, specifically those students are practical learner. They found learning from practicing that allows them to modify and acquire new skills easily. For example, science students learn how to build a robot. Instead of sitting down to learn how to do it from textbook, building a robot by themselves in which allows them to learn problem solving, reflects their strength and weakness, overcome emotion engagement, modified and acquired new skills through practices it. It becomes a well diversify learning opportunity.

Traditional teaching is proven that it is an efficient teaching method. In fact, majority of knowledge and skills inheritance from our ancestors are passing down through traditional teaching. Unfortunately, the defeat of traditional teaching is not applicable to many practical subjects.

In view of arguments I outlined above, I incline to agree that experiential learning is a better method than traditional teaching in practical subject. But the benefits of traditional learning cannot be ignored.