Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The statement seems to favor a judgement from an expert over an opinion from a layperson. Yet, the benefit lays in each suggestion may not be able to evaluate so easily simply from who gives it.

Suggestions comes from experts are no doubt a treasure in every field since they are the one who devote most in the specific fields and have more comprehensive viewpoints than most of the laypersons. During childhood, we learned from our parents of how behave properly. Grown adults are kind of experts to children for their much experience. In school, we learned from teachers and professors who specialized in their field with lots of study and paper at hand. Knowledge are built from basic to advanced, so the more experienced one often possesses the ability to figure out our questions right away. Therefore, their judgments are unquestionable valuable to us.

However, to value a suggestion given by an expert is one thing. To look down on the judgment from a person out of that field is another thing. Some detractors may think that the opinions are useless because those people in other field do not even understand any detail and the complexity of the questions they are facing. In fact, many unprecedented ideas show up in a totally unrelated situation. For instance, birds act as science experts to hint on Wright brothers when they found themselves stuck in the technological predicament. Then they realized that if birds could fly, human could copy their design and likewise be able to fly. After carefully observed how the bird's wings adapt to the blowing wind, they created the first airplane and changed the world.

Furthermore, over the history, it is obvious that many huge progresses are made because of the cooperation of people from a variety of fields. For example, people are crazy about iphone is not only because their user friendly interface, but also their beautiful outlook and fashion design. Holding a phone is no longer to communicate only, but to pursue a trendy belief and a social status. For sure, Steve Jobs cannot make Apple become such a telephone empire alone. The specialist from art, design, advertising and technology all contributed to this Apple legacy. In this era, it is obsolete to focus on one single profession, and hence the judgments from other fields are of great importance as well.

In the final analysis, we should appreciate judgments comes from anyone, no matter an expert or a nobody.