People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

Over the past few decades, it has been witnessed that residents are lacking sense of security wherever they are. There are a number of reasons behind this situation and several feasible solutions should be recommended to tackle this problem.

To begin with, there are two primary causes explaining the anxiety citizens are suffering. Firstly, the way by which criminals commit their crimes has been so complicated that even careful and circumspect social member can be victimized. For example, although Internet security measures are taken, an excessive load of victims of online scam and black-hat computer hackers are reported annually. Another reason stems from people’s shaken belief on the authority. Indeed, severe crimes committed by government members like embezzlement makes them less likely to fulfill citizens’ expectation about their ability to assure the domestic tranquility. Moreover, even when criminals are brought to justice, the court sometimes tends to be soft on crime by extenuating circumstances, which are not strict enough to prevent people from illegal behaviors.

However, measures must be taken by the government to alleviate the issue. Specifically, a full-scale investigation into severe cases must be launched on a regular basis. Not only does this helps elucidate the truth but also provides security bodies with experience to protect people from similar circumstances. Additionally, maintaining the policy of zero tolerance is also necessary. Particularly, verdicts must serve out their custodial sentences rather than have chance to be prematurely released. Indeed, if the government becomes tough on crime and always applies the full weight of the law, citizens will less likely to get involved in evil actions.

Briefly, only by addressing the concerns of local people will their insecurity feeling be improved.