Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is integral for national officials to cut the rate of crime by keeping criminals in captivity. However, I am of the opinion that offenders should be provided with job training and vocational training rather than being sent to jail.

Imprisonment, without doubt, do more harm than good to the society as a whole. Firstly, people who carry out confinement to prison loss the ability to function prosocially as they are isolated with the community. They, admittedly , could not catch up with the fast pace of living outside prison. Therefore, after rehabilitation, there will be no chances for offenders to make a fresh start and they might re-offend as they confuse to ensure a decent living standard. Secondly, there is a high probability of recidivism which prisoners might reinforce each other’s antisocial and criminal behaviours. For example, being surrounded with an avalanche kind of law-breakers, who have done wicked things, will become other’s incentives to repeat guilty acts over time.

Therefore, I side with those who contend that better education provisions are more appropriate way of dealing with offenders. This can apparently change their delinquent attitudes towards society and family. For instance, some rampant wrongdoers who share a similar set of psychological problems should take part in a consultant session in order to check-up and search for a cure for their well-being. They will no longer commit a crime once they are in a good state of mind. Furthermore, for all intends and purposes, money is the main inducement to engage in criminal activities. With vocational training, many crime can be nip in the bud. They have chances to acquire more earning capacity and improve job skills, such as problem solving, communication and teamwork, which are meagre in the past.

Taking into those above-mentioned characteristics, one can conclude that imprisonment does not make the most of reducing crime than educational provision does.