Some people think that it is better for children to learn a foreign language at primary school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a number of people who assert learning language is constructive, while others who hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that acquiring a new language in early childhood is advantageous. In this essay, I elucidate my point of view by discussing the reasons before deducing a reasonable conclusion.

There are several reasons why learning a language at early age is advantageous. Firstly, it is argued that the children’s mind is enthusiastic to explore the new things in more intuitive and enjoyable way. This may be attributed to the fact that kids have an innate ability to acquire the rules of any language, which could disappear by adulthood. Specifically, a research study conducted by Yale university in 2014 has found that children are not able to realize the difference between their mother's language and other languages, therefore, they are more likely to achieve native-like pronunciation in their childhood.

In addition, it is believed that there is a clear link between culture and language acquisition. This is to say that learning a language would help children to easily embrace the culture of that language, therefore, their enthusiasm and self-confidence will amplified, which consequently instills a strong feeling of self-esteem in them to interact with the other pupils. For example, a bilingual Iranian kid, who is surrounded by American children in the schools, may not face an uphill struggle to communicate with the other pupils. As these examples illustrate, the benefits of learning language in childhood is obvious and people’s future will be constructively and enormously affected.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the new that learning language at early age could stimulate the youngsters in positive way, which catalyzes the surge of learning something new and they can easily be adapted to the new culture.